27 August 2019
Volume: 7
Issue: 45
Sailing expert, Mr Jethro Brophy-Tintinger, received a UKZN Prestige Sports Scholarship.

Prestige Sports Award for UKZN Sailor

BY: .

BSc Mechanical Engineering first-year student and yachtsman Mr Jethro Brophy-Tintinger is the recipient of a 2019 UKZN Prestige Sports Scholarship, awarded for outstanding achievement in sport at provincial, national or international level.

Ms Cwengile Dweba was presented with a UKZN Doctoral Research Scholarship by Professor Deresh Ramjugernath.

Genetics Student Awarded Prestigious Doctoral Research Scholarship

BY: .

Doctoral student Ms Cwengile Chumisa Dweba has been awarded the UKZN Doctoral Research Scholarship.

Electrical Engineering student Ms Londiwe Ntombela received a Frene Ginwala Scholarship.

Electrical Engineering Student Wins 2019 Frene Ginwala Scholarship

BY: .

BSc Electrical Engineering undergraduate student Ms Londiwe Ntombela received a Frene Ginwala Scholarship at UKZN’s 2019 Scholarship Awards Ceremony.

Mr Ricardo Pillay was presented with a Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship by Professor Busisiwe Ncama.

Impressive Academic Performance Reaps Benefits

BY: .

An impressive academic performance at UKZN in 2018 resulted in Mr Ricardo Aaron Pillay being one of the top five first-year undergraduates in the College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science who each won a Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship.

Mr Lulama Mcebi was presented his Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship by Professor Busisiwe Ncama.

Scholarship Came as a Surprise to Student

BY: .

‘Receiving the scholarship is a great motivation for me. I never expected anything like this but it motivates me to study harder and to keep doing well academically,’ says Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship winner, Mr Lulama Mcebi.

50th Anniversary Award winner, Mr Salesh Harrysharan, with his proud parents Roshni and Shailendra.

50th Anniversary Endowment Fund Scholarship a Boost for Ambitious IT Student

BY: .

Mr Salesh Harrysharan, a third-year Computer Science and Information Technology (IT) student, received UKZN’s 50th Anniversary Endowment Fund Scholarship for outstanding academic achievement during his studies.

Miss Nomfundo Mlambo with Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research, Professor Deresh Ramjugernath.

Scholarship Boosts Self Confidence of Student

BY: .

Receiving a Frene Ginwala Scholarship gave Computer Science and Information Technology first-year student Ms Nomfundo Mlambo belief in her abilities and confidence in herself generally.

Zac Yacoob Scholarship winner, Mr Kishan Dayaram.

Zac Yacoob Scholarship for Mathematics Whizz

BY: .

Honours student in Mathematics Mr Kishan Dayaram has been awarded the Zac Yacoob Scholarship for being the best student progressing to an honours degree at UKZN.

DVC Scholarship winner Ms Shavani Naicker with her proud family, father Karthigan, mother Soogandri and sister Lavanya.

All in the Stars for Prestige Award Winner

BY: .

Black holes in space are what fascinate Ms Shavani Naicker, a third-year Bachelor of Science student who received a College Deputy Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarship in recognition of her top performance over two or more years of undergraduate study.

Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship winner, Mr Rowan Pellow-Jarman.

Scholarship Winner has Sights Set on Being a Computer Scientist

BY: .

Mr Rowan Pellow-Jarman is a former Penzance Primary School and Glenwood High School pupil who decided to study at UKZN because of its good academic reputation and close proximity to his home.

S2A3 Medal winner, Ms Chevarra Hansraj.

Prestigious Award for Astrophysicist's Masters Thesis

BY: .

The thesis Ms Chevarra Hansraj presented for her master’s degree has been selected as the best in the area of Sciences and Applied Sciences at UKZN in 2018, winning her an award from the SA Association for the Advancement of Science. The Association presents only one such award – the S2A3 medal – to each university in South Africa every year.

Mr Devin Pelser (left) was presented with the Vincent Maphai Scholarship by the keynote speaker at the ceremony, Standard Bank’s Mrs Victoria Ngwenya.

It All Adds up for Maths Boffin

BY: .

Mr Devin Pelser is a top achiever. He got the highest marks for Maths and Physical Science in his matric year at Maritzburg College and at UKZN he completed his undergraduate degree in Maths and Computer Science summa cum laude going on to do his honours in Mathematics which he also achieved summa cum laude.

Mr Shimon Corcos received the UKZN 100th Anniversary Scholarship.

Top Award for Fine Scholar

BY: .

Being one of the top three performing undergraduate students at UKZN has earned Mr Shimon Corcos the University’s 100th Anniversary Scholarship.

Mr Kiaran Pillay received a Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship.

BSc Student Aiming for High Honours

BY: .

Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship recipient Mr Kiaran Pillay, who is in the second year of study for his BSc degree, says he is determined to graduate summa cum laude.

DVC Scholarship winner Mr Keegan Trehaeven with Professor Naven Chetty.

Thrill-Seeking Problem Solver Awarded Scholarship

BY: .

The thrill of finding solutions has always driven Mr Keegan Trehaeven’s interest in Maths and Physics.

Maryam Babangida Scholarship winner, Ms Stephanie Fraser.

Hard Work and Dedication Reap Reward

BY: .

Bachelor of Science graduate Ms Stephanie Fraser, who is now studying for her honours degree, has been awarded the Maryam Babangida Scholarship for the best female student proceeding from undergraduate to honours study at UKZN.

TB Davis Scholarship winner, Mr Muhammad Ikram.

Gift for Solving Maths Problems Leads to Great Things for Science Student

BY: .

Mr Muhammad Zohaib Ikram’s flair as a youngster for Chemistry and Mathematics and the joy he got out of solving complex problems at high school led him to the field of Engineering.

College DVC Scholarship recipient, Ms Leigh Anne Trouchik, with Professor Naven Chetty.

Genetics and Molecular Biology Favourite Subjects of Scholarship Winner!

BY: .

A love for Science began at an early age for College Deputy Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarship winner Ms Leigh Anne Trouchik.