26 August 2019
Volume: 7
Issue: 44
Humanities students who received the Talent Equity and Excellence Acceleration Scholarship (from left) Mr Siphesihle Kunene with Acting Registrar, Dr Kathy Cleland; Ms Hleliwe Khumalo; Ms Nonjabulo Ndwandwe; Mr Marole Moloi; and Mr Mzwandile Zulu.

Scholarship Boost for Aspirant Academics

BY: .

Six students from the College of Humanities, who hope to become academics at UKZN, have received the Talent Equity and Excellence Acceleration Scholarship.

Distinguished Student Award recipient, Ms Natasha Moodaley.

Young Achiever Scoops Distinguished Student Award

BY: .

Education and Development student Ms Natasha Moodaley is the winner of the UKZN Distinguished Student Award which recognises and rewards outstanding academic achievement and excellence in community engagement.

From left: Ms Sabrina Loubser, Ms Lindokuhle Mbatha, Ms Jadine Pillay, Mr Ntuthuko Hlela, and Mr Darren Jantjies.

MW Makgoba Scholarships for Five Humanities Students

BY: .

Five top achievers from the College of Humanities - Ms Jadine Pillay, Ms Lindokuhle Mbatha, Ms Sabrina Loubser, Mr Darren Jantjies and Mr Ntuthuko Hlela - have been awarded the prestigious Malegapuru W Makgoba Scholarship.

Scholarship recipients (from left) Ms Nokubonga Chauque, Ms Nothando Maphumulo, and Ms Romaana Muhammad.

College DVC Scholarships for Three Humanities Students

BY: .

Three undergraduate students in the College of Humanities - Ms Romaana Muhammad, Ms Nothando Maphumulo and Ms Nokubonga Chauque - have received 2019 College Deputy Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarships.

Mr Qaphelani Ndlovu, one of two recipients of the Hugh Africa Scholarship, with Professor Busisiwe Ncama, DVC and Head of the College of Health Sciences.

Education Students Land Coveted Hugh Africa Scholarships

BY: .

Bachelor of Education students, Ms Shannon Ajodha and Mr Qaphelani Ndlovu have been awarded prestigious Hugh Africa Scholarships.

From left: Master’s students Mr Zwelisha Mfishi, Mr Lindokuhle Shandu, Ms Nokukhanya Zondi, Mr Sthembiso Phoswa, Ms Alandra Naidoo, Ms Nomfundo Sibisi, and Ms Felicia Mashabane.

Eight Master’s Students Set to Benefit from Rick Turner Scholarships

BY: .

Rick Turner Scholarships will make huge differences to the lives of eight Masters students in the College of Humanities.

Prestige Sports Scholarship recipients (from left) Mr Asanda Zulu; Ms Carla Anne Parsons with UKZN Convocation member, Mr Andrè Young; Ms Sasha-Lee Nordengen-Corris; and Mr Sibongile Novuka.

Sports Scholarships for Eight UKZN Sportsmen and Women

BY: .

UKZN Prestige Sports Scholarships have been awarded to eight students from the disciplines of Arts, Social Sciences and Education for outstanding achievements in sport at provincial, national and international levels.

Ms Subashini Govender, this year’s UKZN Doctoral Research Scholarship award recipient.

UKZN Doctoral Research Scholarship – A Focus on Migration, Home and Identity

BY: .

Ms Subashini Govender is the 2019 recipient of the prestigious UKZN Doctoral Research Scholarship. Govender, a Humanities student, is honoured and grateful to receive such a prominent award. The scholarship will serve as a source of funding on her study on Transnationalism, Home and Identity of South African’s of Indian Descent Migrating to Australia.

Ms Megan Raftery with Professor Busisiwe Ncama, DVC and Head of the College of Health Sciences.

Research and Work in Education – Driving Forces for Scholarship Achiever

BY: .

Independent research and working in education to further transformation and development are what drives BA student and Brenda Gourley Scholarship recipient, Ms Megan Raftery.

Emma Smith Overseas Scholarship award recipient, Ms Theshira Pather is congratulated by her proud parents.

Award Enables MA Student to “Live Her Dream”

BY: .

Master of Arts student Ms Theshira Pather has won the sought-after Emma Smith Overseas Scholarship which allows top-performing postgraduate women students resident in eThekwini to study abroad.

From left: Mr Shaylen Naidoo, Ms Catherine Muyonjo, Ms Phakamile Mazibuko, Ms Caitlin De Waal, Mr Mkhuliseni Mkhize and (right) Mr Simo Cele (receiving his award from Professor Deresh Ramjugernath) are excited about their scholarship awards.

College of Humanities Boasts Seven Denis Hurley Scholarship Achievers

BY: .

The Archbishop Denis Hurley Scholarship - dedicated to candidates who are disadvantaged but academically excellent - has been awarded to seven students at UKZN’s College of Humanities.