12 September 2023
Volume: 11
Issue: 44
UKZN scholarship awardee, Ms Nokuzola Mbona (left), with Professor Sandile Songca, DVC: Teaching and Learning.

A Ticket to Study in the UK

BY: .

Being awarded an Emma Smith Overseas Scholarship will enable Ms Nokuzola Mbona to fulfil her dream of studying in the United Kingdom.

Ms Sisanda Ndlela (left) with Professor Fikile Mazibuko, Interim Senior Director: Student Services.

Rugby Star Awarded Sports Scholarship

BY: .

Third-year Architectural Studies student, Ms Sisanda Ndlela is the proud recipient of a UKZN Prestige Sports Scholarship.

Ms Phiwokuhle Prudence Ngubane was awarded a scholarship for her outstanding achievement in sports.

Paying it Forward

BY: .

A strong mind and body are vital ingredients in achieving one’s goals and Ms Phiwokuhle Prudence Ngubane (22) has both.

Ms Zanele Myeni received the Hugh Africa Scholarship.

Top Achiever Awarded Professor Hugh Africa Scholarship

BY: .

Go-getter, Ms Zanele Myeni of the School of Education has bagged a scholarship named after distinguished educationist and former Vice-Chancellor, member of the UKZN Council, and recipient of an honorary doctorate from the University, Professor Hugh Africa.

From left: Ms Meghna Moodley and Ms Ameera Peer with Professor Mosa Moshabela, DVC: Research and Innovation.

College Deputy Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarships

BY: .

College Deputy Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarships are awarded to the top three undergraduates in their third year of study. Ms Meghna Moodley, Ms Ameera Peer and Ms Nadia Ismail have been awarded this scholarship in the College of Humanities.

Ms Jordan Buys (left) with Professor Fikile Mazibuko, Interim Senior Director: Student Services.

‘Never Lose Sight of Your Goals’

BY: .

U19 South African netball player Ms Jordan Buys, who has been awarded a Sports Scholarship says that her journey at UKZN has been marked by highs and lows, but she has remained steadfast in pursuit of her goals.

From left: Ms Kgomotso Matjoafi, Mr Pranav Odyan, Ms Thandiwe Mokoena, and (right) Mr Thandokuhle Nkambule with Professor Sandile Songca, DVC: Teaching and Learning.

Living Up to the Legacy of Archbishop Denis E. Hurley

BY: .

The Archbishop Denis E. Hurley Educational Trust provides a suite of scholarships for disadvantaged, academically excellent candidates to read for honours degrees. Candidates are expected to demonstrate a commitment to community involvement, leadership qualities and an ethical vision that resonates with the life, spirit and accomplishments of the late Archbishop.

Ms Kiasha Govender (left) is congratulated by Professor Mosa Moshabela, DVC: Research and Innovation.

50th Anniversary Scholarship Recipient has Ambitious Goals

BY: .

Second-year Psychology student Ms Kiasha Govender who received the 50th Anniversary Scholarship believes this is just the beginning of her academic adventure.

From left: Ms Laiken Tatchell, Mr Sandile Dlamini, Ms Mpilwenhle Manzini and Ms Samaisha Singh are congratulated by Ms Normah Zondo, Executive Director: Corporate Relations.

Humanities Malegapuru W. Makgoba Scholarship Awardees

BY: .

Named after the first Vice-Chancellor and Principal of UKZN, the Malegapuru W. Makgoba Scholarship is awarded to the five top-ranked undergraduates proceeding from first to second year in the University’s four Colleges.