04 June 2015 Volume :3 Issue :27

UKZN Going for Gold at Comrades 2015

UKZN Going for Gold at Comrades 2015
UKZN Staff and students at the Comrades.

Braving the wintry cold, UKZN’s staff alongside the Sports Science and Physiotherapy students rose early on Sunday morning to work together in managing their refreshment station at Comrades' 90th celebration of the Ultimate Human Race.

Red and white was unmissable on the day as Team UKZN lined the street shouting and cheering as runners made their way uphill, handing out refreshments and working tirelessly to ensure that runners were rejuvenated and motivated as they made their way towards the finish line.

Sports Science and Physiotherapy students worked tirelessly in providing massages to weary legs and stiff muscles offering reprieve before runners picked up the pace.

Keeping everyone dancing and energised, UKZN’s Mr Tintin Pillay had the Team and Bothas Hill spectators in high spirits. “Once more, we are excited to be part of this year’s Comrades and wish our runners well as they make their way to the finish line. We are behind you!” he said.

Congratulations to UKZN’s Convocation Executive member, Mr Sammy Mashita, who ran in a time of 10:53:47. His sterling performance won him a bronze medal.

Mr Duncan Hay, Honorary Research Fellow at UKZN was also a medal winner, finishing in 11:57:29 with Ms Kerinne Harvey, Research Fellow at School of Life Sciences, completing in 11:51:23. UKZN’s Forensic Investigation Specialist Mr Mzamo Mkhwanazi also finished well in a time of 11:13:55 with fellow colleague Mr Tony Singarum bravely attempting the race despite nursing a nagging calf injury.

UKZN congratulates our first South African female winner in seventeen years, Ms Caroline Wostmann and our other fellow South African Mr Gift Kelehe who won the men’s race, the first South African male and female winner since 1992.

‘Corporate Relations organisers thank all staff and students who worked tirelessly and with dedication to ensure that the day was a resounding success. We also congratulate all who ran the 2015 race and offer our good wishes to those preparing for next year,’ said Mr Lesiba Seshoka, Executive Director: Corporate Relations.

Rakshika Sibran

author : .
author email : .